All arrangements for KP LG polls finalized


PESHAWAR: All arrangements for Local Government (LG) elections in 17 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) have been finalized.

The election campaign will end on the night between Friday (December 17) and Saturday (December 18). Polling will start at 8:00am on Sunday (December 19) and will continue till 5:00pm without any interval. In the first phase of the LG polls, elections are being held in 17 districts on December 19. The polls in the rest of the province will be held in January in the second phase.

The districts where the election are being held include Peshawar, Nowshera, Charsadda, Khyber, Mohmand, Mardan, Swabi, Kohat, Karak, Hangu, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, DI Khan, Tank, Haripur, Buner and Bajaur. According to sources, there are 12,668,862 registered voters who will exercise their right to vote. There are 7,015,767 male voters and 5,653,095 female voters.

The Election Commission has set up 9,223 polling stations with a total number of 28,892 polling booths. At least 4,188 polling stations have been declared sensitive and 2,507 highly sensitive.

A total of 19,285 candidates are contesting for the seats of general councillors at 2,359 village councils and neighbourhood councils (VCNCs) while the number of women candidates is 3,870 women seats for the same number of VCNCs.

Similarly, 7,428 candidates are running for peasant/worker seats, 6,011 for the youth, and 293 for the minority. Besides, 689 candidates are contesting for the seats of mayor and tehsil chairman.

Leave a Reply