PMA urges authorities to accept YDA demand for re-test


QUETTA: Pak Medical Association (PMA) Balochistan demanded of the authorities to accept the demands of Young Doctors Association (YDA), Balochistan and get the test for admission in medical colleges of the country conducted afresh.

These demands were made in the Provincial Executive Committee meeting of PMA Balochistan held here on Monday under the chairmanship of Dr Aftab Kakar, President, PMA, Balochistan. The meeting thoroughly deliberated upon the issue of “General Health Cadre” and “Management Cadre”.

It was decided to seek recommendations from both the cadres so that a comprehensive policy could be devised to address the issues with regard to the service structure of both the cadres for good.

The ongoing strike of YDA also came under discussion during the meeting and it was decided to support the genuine demands of YDA, however, it was observed that since the strike of YDA was directly affecting the poor segment of society, who could not shoulder the burden of treatment in private hospitals, YDA was urged to change the method of strike so that it might not affect poor patients.

The meeting accorded approval for conducting election of PMA Quetta Zone on November 13, 2021. It urged the authorities of Pakistan Medical Commission to conduct test for admission in medical colleges of the country afresh so that medical students of Balochistan could not be deprived of their rights.

Underlining the need for providing facilities to the teaching hospital to operationalize Jhalawan Medical College, the meeting expressed reservations over affiliation of Jhalawan Medical College with Combined Military Hospital (CMH). Condemning the abduction of Dr Javed Zehri from the premises of Khuzdar hospital, the PMA demanded of the authorities to ensure the safe recovery of Dr Javed Zehri otherwise PMA would protest.

The meeting was attended, inter alia, by Dr Asif Shahwani, General Secretary, PMA, Balochistan, Dr Noor Qazi, Dr Ahmed Wali, Dr Afzal Khaliq Baloch, Dr Naseem Katkezai, Dr Rafique Konia, Dr Kabir Khan, Dr Rashid Nasar and Dr Alam Sajjad.

Leave a Reply