Sports: Cricket: Pakistan names squad for T20 series against New Zealand

Karachi: Pakistan has named its squad for the three-match T20 series in New Zealand, with Mohammad Nawaz called up to replace the injured Imad Wasim.

The ICC Champions Trophy champions are currently 2-0 down from the first two ODIs against the Black Caps with three left to play.

The T20 series, which follows the ODI series, will see the world’s No.1 ranked team in the format, New Zealand, pitted against the No.2, Pakistan, who beat Sri Lanka 3-0 in their last T20 outing in the UAE in October.

Former captain-turned chief selector Inzamam ul Haq said of the squad selected: “Imad Wasim was yet to recover from his knee injury, and was told to continue his rehabilitation at the NCA. Mohammad Nawaz has been named to replace Imad Wasim.

He also confirmed that batsman Sohaib Maqsood was not considered for selection due to a back injury.

The squad, which will be captained by Sarfraz Ahmed and will compete three T20Is between January 22 to 88, 2018, is as follows:

Sarfraz Ahmed (cap, wk), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Harris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Amir Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees, Umar Amin.