Sports: Cricket: Second phase of National Disabled T20 begins February 12

Karachi: The second phase of the sixth edition of National Disabled T20 Cricket Championship will be played from February 12 simultaneously at Rawalpindi Stadium and Diamond Ground in Islamabad.

The first phase of the event in group “A” and “B” has already completed in Karachi last month. Multan has qualified for the final after they defeated Karachi in the first semifinal.

In this second phase, as many as eight teams are taking part, which are divided into two groups. Group C consists of Islamabad, Lahore, Azad Kashmir and FATA. Rawalpindi, Peshawar, Abbottabad and Sialkot forms Group D. The final will be played in Karachi between Multan and the second phase champions.

According to Mohammad Nizam, Media Manager Pakistan Disabled Cricket Association (PDCA), the PDCA wants to host the grand final of the tournament at Karachi’s National Stadium before Pakistan Super League (PSL) final in Karachi on March 25.

According to Nizam, the final of the national event would prove as a rehearsal for the bigger PSL final at the venue, which is undergoing reconstruction work.