Islamabad, March 14, 2018 (PPI-OT): 1st meeting of the Special Committee on Delimitation of Constituencies was held today i.e. 14th March, 2018, at 02:30 P.M, in Constitution Room, Parliament House, Islamabad. The main purpose was to elect the Chairman of the Committee. The Committee unanimously elected Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi, MNA/ Deputy Speaker, as Chairman of the Special Committee.

While discussing agenda item no. III pertaining to the issue of grievances/ reservations of the Members of the National Assembly regarding recently carried out delimitation by the Election Commission of Pakistan, the Committee expressed deep concern on the delimitation; and constituted nine (9) Members Working Group under the Convenership of Mr. Daniyal Aziz, Minister for Privatization. The Group will make suggestions/proposals within three (3) days to address the issue of new delimitation of constituencies which would be sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan; for resolution.

The Committee discussed the following issues:-

Clock wise delimitation;

Stark discrepancies while determining the boundaries of the Constituencies on different criteria of population;

Issue of Sections 20/21 of Election Act; 2017;

Constitution of Election Tribunals for hearing appeals against the delimitation of Constituencies; and
Poor Performance of Election Commission of Pakistan with regard to provision of Maps of the Constituencies to the General Public.

The meeting was also attended by Lt. Gen. (Retd) Abdul Qadir Baloch, Minister for State and Frontier Regions, Mr. Daniyal Aziz, Minister for Privatization, Sheikh Aftab Ahmed, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Mr. Mehmood Bashir Virk, Minister for Law and Justice Mr. Miftah Ismail, Advisor to P.M. on Finance, Mr. Zahid Hamid, Syed Naveed Qamar, Dr. Arif Alvi, Mr. Siraj Muhammad Khan, Mr. S.A Iqbal Quadri, Ms. Naeema Kishwer Khan, Ms. Ayisha Nasir, Mr. Ghous Bux Khan Mahar, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah, Mr. Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Alhaj Shahji Gul Afridi, MNAs, and Officers of the ECP, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Ministry of Statistics.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106