5th meeting of the Standing Committee on Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit Baltistan held 

General Official News

Islamabad, February 13, 2020 (PPI-OT):5th meeting of the Standing Committee on Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit Baltistan was held today under the Chairmanship of Rana Shamim Ahmed Khan, MNA. The meeting started with recitation from the Holy Quran. The Chairman welcomed the Committee Members and the participants. After brief introduction of participants the Committee decided to proceed with the agenda.


  1. The Secretary, Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan presented overview of the Public Sector Development Programme (PSDP) for the Financial Year 2020-21 of the Ministry. After detail discussion on PSDP the Committee unanimously recommended the PSDP for the Financial Year 2020-21.


  1. Syed Imran Ahmed Shah, MNA presented a resolution on the present situation of Indian Occupied Kashmir in the National Assembly Standing Committee on Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan that House noted that the citizens of Indian Occupied Kashmir (IOK) are facing curfew continuously since 192 days and 80 lac Kashmiries are living like prisoners. He also added that escalation in violence and breaches of international human rights on the Indian side of the Line of Control in Kashmir; and called the United Nation and International Communities to raise the matter at the United Nations; right of the Kashmiri people to determine their own future in accordance with the provisions of UN Security Council resolutions. Another resolution presented by Mrs. Ghazala Safi, MNA on the violation on Line of Control (LoC) by the Indian Army has been increased and the Committee condemned the atrocity against the innocent people of Kashmir by the Indian Armed Forces and demanded the Security Council to force the Indian Government for appointing United Nations Observer Mission in Indian Occupied Kashmir (IOK) so that they can monitor such kind of human rights violations. The Committee unanimously passed the resolutions.


  1. Hon. Members/MNAs Ms. Rubina Jamil, Ms. Ghazala Saifi, Syed Imran Ahmed Shah, Mr. Waheed Alam Khan and Secretary Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan, alongwith senior officers from the Ministry attended the meeting with their staff.


For more information, contact:


National Assembly of Pakistan

Automation Centre,

National Assembly Secretariat,

Parliament House,

Islamabad – Pakistan

Tel: +92-51-9221082-83

Fax: +92-51-9221106

Email: assembly@na.gov.pk

Website: www.na.gov.pk