6th meeting of the Standing Committee on Planning Development and Reform held

General Official News

Islamabad, August 05, 2019 (PPI-OT): 6th meeting of the Standing Committee on Planning Development and Reform was held today at 2:00 p.m. in Committee Room No.7, Parliament House, Islamabad, under the Chairmanship of Mr. Junaid Akbar, MNA.

2. The Ministry submitted the compliance report regarding the recommendations of the previous meeting but the committee was not satisfied by the briefing relating to agriculture. The Committee recommended that a comprehensive analysis on last three 5 years Plans may be submitted to the Committee in next meeting. The Committee asked about completion of Narowal Sports City project, the Ministry submitted that all projects which are 80% complete will be considered on priority basis.

3. On the briefing about publication of new PSDP book by the Ministry after approval of budget; the Ministry informed that NEC is a constitutional body to consider the proposals submitted by the Ministry of PD and R and the PSDP recommended by NEC was placed in the National Assembly. While approving PSDP 2019-20, the NEC authorized MoPDR to make adjustments within the overall size of the PSDP. The Ministry informed the Committee that the changes in the PSDP by the Ministry were conveyed to the National Assembly. The Committee recommended to provide the letter containing details of changes in the PSDP to the National Assembly.

3. The Committee raised the question regarding the non-completion of Narowal Sports City Project. The Committee recommended that the Narowal Sports City project may be completed on priority basis. The Ministry informed that projects that are 80% complete are given priority. The Committee directed to submit reply about basis of approval and later on disapproval of Mansehra Airport project. While discussing the projects of CPEC Honorable Members raised concerns over exclusion of areas of FATA and Buner from CPEC projects and lack of PSDP projects in the said areas. The Committee recommended that the KPK Government may considered the matter.

4. Honorable Members/MNAs Mr. Sher Akbar Khan, Mr. Saleh Muhammad, Mr. Shaukat Ali, Syed Faiz Ul Hassan, Mr. Nawab Sher, Dr. Seemi Bukhari, Mr. Muhammad Sajjad, Sardar Muhammad Irfan Dogar, Mr. Naveed Dero, Syed Agha Rafiullah, Mr. Abdul Shakoor and senior officers from the Ministry of Planning, Development and Reform attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk