KARACHI:A nine-member committee has been formed to split up the Pakistan Civil Aviation Authority into two bodies, says a notification issued on Saturday.

According to the notification, Ministry of Aviation Joint Secretary (two) Shazia Rizvi has been appointed committee’s chairperson and Air vice Marshal Taimoor Iqbal has been made its coordinator.

According to the notification, the committee will complete its work by October 15. The PCAA will be split up into two departments i.e. Pakistan Airport Authority and Bureau of Air Safety Investigation, the notification stated.

The committee will distribute the PCAA’s assets and funds between the new departments. It will also look into the affairs related to the transfer of PCAA officers and record. It will also be responsible for the distribution of space, furniture, machinery, vehicles and funds between the departments.

Other members of the committee include: Ministry of Aviation Joint Secretary (three) Iqbal Asif, Finance Ministry Joint Secretary Abdul Malik, PCAA Deputy DG Regulatory Nadir Shafi Dar, Aircraft Accident Investigation Board President Air Commodore Mirza Amir Vilayat, PCAA Finance Director Saqib Butt, Director Sameer Saeed, Director APS Sadiqur Rehman and Director HR Abid Ali.