ECP issues victory notification of 19 MPAs

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued victory notifications for 19 candidates, who were elected as MPA in the recent Punjab by-polls..

On July 17, by-elections on the 20 vacant seats of the Punjab Assembly were held after the ECP de-seated dissident MPAs of PTI. The result of PP-7 Rawalpindi is withheld as the case is under hearing in the ECP on the orders of the Lahore High Court’s Rawalpindi bench.

However, after ECP rejected the PTI candidate’s plea, the notification of PP-7 constituency winner will also be released shortly. It may be noted that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) emerged victorious in the majority of the seats in the crucial by-elections on the 20 Punjab Assembly.

Out of 20, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) secured 15 seats, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz clinched four seats and one seat was secured by an independent candidate.