National Assembly Standing Committee on Commerce and Textile meets

Karachi, April 05, 2018 (PPI-OT): The Standing Committee on Commerce and Textile met under the chairmanship of Mr. Siraj Muhammad Khan, MNA, in Karachi. The Committee was apprised that the Chairman Pakistan Textile City Limited (PTCL) is abroad and its CEO has resigned recently. The Chairman, Port Qasim Authority and the Representative of National Bank of Pakistan, the other stakeholders, were present. As fruitful discussion was impossible in the absence of the appropriate authority, from PTCL, the agenda item was deferred.

During discussion on State Life Insurance Corporation (SLIC), it transpired that they are registered with Securities Exchange Commission of Pakistan, contrary to the Postal Life Insurance. The Committee desired that a meeting of Postal Division, Commerce Division and Finance Division should be held at the earliest to ensure level playing field for both i.e. SLIC and Postal Life Insurance. As regards hiring policy of SLIC, the Committee was shown a newspaper advertisement, containing a large number of vacancies, wherein considerable seats were allocated against the underdeveloped areas quota. The Committee expressed satisfaction over the proper representation of the marginalized areas in jobs of Corporation.

The Chairman, SLIC also briefed the Committee about the performance on their Legal Affairs. He informed that there are 1445 cases and well renowned law firms have been taken on panel to pursue these cases. As regards the embezzlement case of Rs.106 million, the Chairman said that the case was reported to NAB in October 2015, main accused was dismissed from service and Rs.37 million have been recovered from him.

Trading Corporation of Pakistan (TCP) took the position that the Sub-Regional office was established in 1974, however, closed in 1980 in view of its depleting operational activities. Its revival will be counterproductive. Agreeing to their solid reasoning, the Committee recommended opening Commodity Procurement Centers on requirement basis. The meeting was attended by MNAs; Mrs. Seema Mohiuddin Jameeli, Mian Muhammad Rasheed, Ms. Tahira Aurangzeb, Ms. Sajida Begum, Mr. Sanjay Perwani, and Senior Officers of the concerned Ministries/Divisions/Departments.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk