National Assembly Standing Committee on Communications meets

General Official News

Islamabad, October 08, 2019 (PPI-OT): 3rd meeting of the Standing Committee on Communications was held today under the Chairmanship of Mr. Ibadullah Khan, MNA. The meeting commenced with recitation from the Holy Quran. Agenda discussed in the meeting included briefing on the performance of the National Highways and Motorway (NH and M) Police and National Highway Authority (NHA). Additional IG, NH and M Police, presented an overview of the force. He briefed the committee about its operational layout, human resources, services, performance, initiatives, challenges, future plans and its requirements.

The Committee appreciated the commitment and high remarkable performance of the NH and M police. The Committee recommended revision of salary structure of the force to make it attractive for quality human resource. The Committee recommended incorporation of human resource, logistics and infrastructure requirements of the NH and M Police in PC – I of all future projects, so that undue delays in deployment on new highways could be avoided.

The Member Planning NHA briefed the Committee, in detail, about the on-going schemes, New schemes, BOT Projects, China Pakistan Economic Corridor and Revenue collection of NHA. In response to the quarries of Committee the NHA updated about progress on different important projects. The NHA informed that its annual collection is Rs.30 billion against expenditure of Rs. 70 billion. NHA relies on Government funds and facing shortage of funds.

The Committee appreciated NHA for its part in development of country. The Committee desired early and timely completion of all projects as due to delays cost increases. A sub-Committee was constituted under the convener-ship of Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi to probe/examine on-going projects, non-operational completed projects and projects for which allocation has been made but work not started.

Hon. Members/MNAs Prince Muhammad Nawaz Allai, Mr. Saleh Muhammad, Engr. Usman Khan Tarakai, Mr. Muhammad Aslam Khan, Mir Khan Muhammad Jamali, Mr. Jai Parkash, Mr. Usama Qadri, Mr. Ehsanullah Reki, Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Rana Muhammad Ishaq Khan, Dr. Darshan, Syed Ayaz Ali Shah Sheerazi, Mr. Ramesh Lal, Moulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali, and the senior officers from the Ministry, NH and M Police and NHA attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106