National Assembly standing committee on defence meets today

English Ministries Official News

Islamabad, June 04, 2021 (PPI-OT):A meeting of the National Assembly Standing Committee on Defence was held today at 11:00 a.m. in the Constitution Room, Parliament House, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Mr. Amjid Ali Khan, MNA. 2. The Committee expressed its displeasure for not attending the meeting by Secretary, M/o Interior, Director General, Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) and Chairman, Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA). 3. In the previous meeting, the M/o Interior was directed to submit a report on the issues of Cyber Crime after collection of information from the Federal Ministries and the Provincial Departments which was still awaited.

The Committee also observed that there is a lack of coordination between all the Departments regarding Cyber Crimes/other issues at the Federal and Provincial levels. The Committee once again directed that the Secretary M/o Interior should ensure his presence in the next meeting to brief the Committee on the Cyber Crime issues at the Federal and Provincial level after having a meeting with the FIA, PTA, NACTA and M/o Information Technology and Telecommunication.

While briefing, the Additional Secretary, Ministry of Defence informed the Committee that the Ministry will give a comprehensive briefing to the National Assembly and Senate Standing Committees on the agenda i.e. “Operation Radd-ul-Fasaad” at General Headquarters, Rawalpindi by the end of this month or first week of July, 2021. On the issue of General Sales Tax Shares of the Cantonments from the Provinces of Sindh and Balochistan, the Committee appointed a Sub-Committee under the Convenership of Mr. Jamil Ahmed Khan, MNA, with three other Members, Ms. Rubina Irfan, Aftab Shahban Mirani and Mir Amer Ali Khan Magsi, MNAs.

The meeting was attended by Syed Faiz-ul-Hassan, Mr. Aurangzeb Khan Khichi, Mr. Jamil Ahmed Khan, Mr. Atta Ullah, Ms. Kanwal Shauzab, Dr. Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, Dr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Ch. Muhammad Barjees Tahir, Mr. Riazul Haq, Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Mir Amer Ali Khan Magsi, Mr. Salahuddin Ayubi, MNAs besides senior officers from M/o Defence, M/o IT and Telecom, National Counter Terrorism Authority (NACTA) and FIA.

For more information, contact:
Senate of Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9204564534
Fax: +92-51-9205703
H.No.7, Cat-II, G-8/2,
Islamabad, Pakistan

The post National Assembly standing committee on defence meets today appeared first on Official News Pakistan.