Standing Committee on Information Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage meets

Islamabad, February 28, 2018 (PPI-OT): 48th meeting of the Standing Committee on Information Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage was held today under the Chairmanship of Pir Muhammad Aslam Bodla, MNA. The meeting started with the recitation from the Holy Quran. Then, the Committee decided to proceed with the agenda. The Committee unanimously confirmed the minutes of its previous meetings held on 28th December, 2017.

The Committee examined the PSDP proposals for financial year 2018-19 in detail. After detailed deliberation the Committee approved the projects with following directions/recommendations;

(1) That the Government should give maximum funding to Ministry of Information Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage to promote Pakistani Culture, Heritage, Film Industry, Drama, Performing Arts and etc.

(2) That the Ministry shall complete the process of on airing PTV Kids Channel and PTV Parliament Channel on priority basis.

(3) That the Ministry should include matter of building external Boundary of Bahawalpur Radio station in 2018-2019 PSDP.

The Committee discussed the matters of Missing Paintings of renowned painters from PNCA, Secretary Ministry of Information and Broadcasting ensures the Committee that he will follow up and inquire about the matter and will brief the Committee in 10 days time. The Committee appreciated Minster for State Ms. Maryam Aurangzeb and Secretary Information Broadcasting on announcing new cultural and film policy and hoped that it will boost Pakistani film industry not only within Pakistan but Internationally as well. The Committee also appreciated dubbing of Pakistani Drama’s in Pashto and Dari Languages.

The Committee deferred the “Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2017 moved by Dr. Fauzia Hameed, MNA and briefing on new agreement of air-time rent of Shalimar Recording and Broadcasting Company (SRBC) owned television Channel A-TV till its next meeting.

The Hon. Members/MNA Malik Shakir Bashir Awan, Ms. Zeb Jaffar, Ms. Parveen Masood Bhatti, Ms. Arifa Khalid Parvez, Ch. Muhammad Tufail, Mr. Imran Zafar Leghari, Ms. Belum Hasnain, Dr. Muhammad Azhar Khan Jadoon, Ms. Naeema Kishwer Khan, MNA attended the meeting, besides Minister of State, senior officers of the Ministry of Information Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage, officers of PEMRA, IP, SRBC attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk