Standing Committee on Information, Broadcasting, National History And Literary Heritage

Islamabad, March 12, 2019 (PPI-OT): The Standing Committee on Information, Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage of National Assembly met under the chairmanship of Mian Javed Latif, MNA at Committee Room of Pakistan Television Corporation (PTV) Headquarters, Islamabad.

The Committee expressed its grave concerns and displeasure on the wilful absence of MD Pakistan Television Corporation (PTV). The Minister and Secretary Information and Broadcasting were also unaware about the wilful absence of the M.D PTV. So for the agenda item regarding the comprehensive briefing on the function and performance of Pakistan Television Corporation (PTV) has been deferred till next meeting. The Committee also recommended the series steps/actions shall be taken by the Minister as well as Secretary, Information and Broadcasting against the M.D, Pakistan Television Corporation (PTV).

The Minister Information and Broadcasting himself briefed the Committee about the concept of “The Pakistan Media Regulatory Authority”. The Minister briefed that the concept of “The Pakistan Media Regulatory Authority” has been discussed and share with all stakeholder including Parliamentary Parties, Media House Owners, Media workers and Organizations. He also briefed that the new Legislation will be very useful for all stakeholders and it will generate and regulate the huge amount of Revenue in the shape of tax etc. He ensured the composition of regulatory body must be independent and it will provide Media Judicial Tribunal for the relief against the grievance of all stakeholders.

The meeting was attended by MNAs; Engr. Usman Khan Tarakai, Mr. Nasir Khan Musazai, Mr.Tahir Iqbal, Mr. Muhammad Akram, Mr.Aftab Jehangir, Ms. Javairia Zafar Aheer, Ms. Syma Nadeem, Syed Aminul Haque, Mr. Nadeem Abbass, Ms. Maryam Aurangzaib, Ms. Maiza Hameed, Mr. Zulfiqar Ali Behan, Ms. Naz Baloch and Mr. Fawad Ahmed Minister Information and Broadcasting, Secretary, Information and Broadcasting Division and heads of the concerned departments.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk