Standing Committee on Science and Technology meets

Islamabad, January 30, 2018 (PPI-OT): The Standing Committee on Science and Technology met in Conference Room of M/o Science and Technology on 30th January, 2018 at 11:00 am to consider the various issues pertaining to M/o Science and Technology. Ch. Tariq Bashir Cheema, MNA/Chairman presided over the meeting.

The Committee discussed “The COMSATS University, Islamabad Bill, 2017” (passed by the Senate) in detail. The Committee directed that Secretary, M/o Science and Technology, Chairman, Higher Education Commission (HEC) and Rector, COMSATS to examine the observations raised by some of the Members of the Committee and stake holders and submit proposals, in this regard within Seven days so that Committee could consider them accordingly. Therefore, the Committee deferred further discussion on the Bill till its next meeting.

The Committee later constituted a four members Sub-Committee headed by Mr. Ali Muhammad Khan, MNA to suggest measures for resolving problems faced by the employees of Pakistan Council of Research in Water Resources (PCRWR). The Sub-Committee would submit its report within 30 days.

The Committee expressed concern over the misappropriation in National Testing Services (NTS) and directed that Ministry may hold an impartial inquiry to bring the culprits behind the bars. The Committee decided to have comprehensive briefing on the performance of NTS and deferred the issue till next meeting for further discussion.

The meeting was attended by the following Members; Chaudhary Armaghan Subhani, Makhdoom Syed Ali Hassan Gillani, Ms. Musarat Rafique Mahesar, Mr. Aftab Shahban Mirani, Ms. Shamas-un-Nisa, Mr. Ali Muhammad Khan, Mr. Lal Chand Malhi, Mr. Sajid Ahmad, Ms. Aliya Kamran and Ms. Shahjehan Muneer Mangrio.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk