KP Assembly elects Chief Minister, session prorogued


Peshawar: The Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) elected the Leader of the House on Thursday, observes Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN) in Daily Factsheet.

The KP Assembly met for two hours and 48 minutes. The sitting started at the scheduled time of 1100 hours. The Speaker chaired the entire sitting while the Deputy Speaker was also present. Eighty (65% of the total membership) members were present at the start and 90 (73%) at the adjournment of the sitting.

As many as 110 members voted in the election of the Chief Minister. Three minority lawmakers were also present.

The PTI nominee Mehmood Khan defeated Mian Nisar Gul of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) as he secured 77 votes. The MMA nominee received 33 votes during balloting at the KP Assembly for the slot of Chief Minister.

Ten lawmakers made felicitation speeches following the election of Chief Minister and spoke for 57 minutes. The newly elected Leader of the House also expressed his views and spoke for seven minutes.

Leave a Reply