Sports: Badminton: National Badminton Championship commences in Lahore

Karachi: The 55th edition of National Badminton Championships started Friday at Gymnasium Hall Punjab University New Campus in Lahore.

Seventeen men and eleven women teams are participating in these championships. WAPDA is the defending champion in both male and female team events. In men’s singles Awais Zahid and Mahoor Shahzad both from WAPDA will defend the titles.

More than 200 players male and female are participating from all over Pakistan. The teams participating in these championships are Sindh, Punjab, KPK, Balochistan, Islamabad, AJK, Wapda, NBP, SNGPL, PTCL, KPT, PMAD, Pakistan Railway, Pakistan Army, Pakistan Police and FATA.

The championship is scheduled to conclude on January 11, 2018.