Reactivation of Parliamentary Friendship Groups in National Assembly

General Official News

Islamabad, November 20, 2018 (PPI-OT): After assuming the position of the Speaker National Assembly, Mr. Asad Qaiser has evinced great interest in promoting cooperation and understanding between the National Assembly of Pakistan and its counterparts across the globe. In order to promote friendly relations between Parliamentarians of Pakistan and elected representatives of the fraternity of democratic governments around the globe, the Speaker has reactivated total 91 Parliamentary Friendship Groups (PFGs). These groups have been constituted through a resolution passed by the National Assembly on 24th September, 2018.

Since 2011, the National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan has properly formalized this parliamentary activity to engage other parliaments and improve bilateral relations. The functions and role of PFGs is valuable instrument for promoting parliamentary diplomacy. The rules of the parliamentary friendship groups have been devised for conducting business of the groups.

The Speaker National Assembly of Pakistan is the ex-officio President of all friendship groups. The Speaker nominates Convener of each group from amongst the members of a group to convene, coordinate and conduct day to day activities of the groups. All the Members of the National Assembly have been informed regarding reactivation of the friendship group in writing soon after passing the resolution in the House regarding groups. So far, we have received consent of 1/3 members till date and response from rest of the members is expected to be received in near future.

In light of the rules of the group as well as in his capacity as ex-officio President of all Friendship Groups, the Speaker has been pleased to nominate the Conveners of total 23 countries. The nomination of the Conveners will resume the formal activities of the friendship groups. The Conveners of the remaining groups will also be appointed once the groups complete required quorum.

List of Conveners for Parliamentary Friendship Groups in the 15th National Assembly of the Pakistan as follows:

1. Mr. Muhammad Bashir Khan – Afghanistan

2. Mr. Ali Zahid – Algeria

3. Mr. Arbab Amir Ayub – Argentina

4. Ms. Marriyum Aurangzeb – Australia

5. Mr. Muhammad Aslam Bhootani – India

6. Agha Hassan Baloch – Bahrain

7. Chaudhary Mahmood Bashir Virk – Bangladesh

8. Mr. Muhammad Yaqoob Shaikh – Belarus

9. Mr. Sher Ali Arbab – Belgium

10. Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada – Brazil

11. Mr. Sajid Khan – Brunei Darussalam

12. Makhdoom Syed Sami-ul-Hassan Gillani – Bulgaria

13. Ms. Maleeka Bokhari – Chile

14. Mr. Noor Alam Khan – China

15. Mr. Riaz Fatyana – Cuba

16. Rao Muhammad Ajmal Khan – Denmark

17. Mr. Qaiser Ahmed Sheikh – DPR Korea

18. Mr. Nasir Khan Musa Zai – Egypt

19. Ms. Shandana Gulzar Khan – European Parliament

20. Mr. Amjid Ali Khan – France

21. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq – Germany

22. Ms. Nusrat Wahid – Greece

23. Mr. Faiz Ullah – Iran

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106