KP Assembly elects speaker, deputy speaker


Peshawar: The Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa elected its Speaker and Deputy Speaker on Wednesday, observes Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN) in Daily Factsheet.

The KP Assembly met for three hours and 57 minutes. The sitting started at 1055 hours against the scheduled time of 1000 hours. The Presiding Officer appointed by the Governor chaired the entire sitting. As many as 108 voted in the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker Election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

The House elected PTI’s Mushtaq Ghani and Mahmood Jan as its Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, respectively. Mushtaq Ghani got 81 votes against 27 votes of the ANP’s candidate for the Speaker while Mahmood Jan secured 78 votes against 30 votes polled in favour of PML-N’s candidate for the Deputy Speaker. A PPPP and an independent lawmaker were not allowed to cast their vote as they arrived in the House after the polling had completed.

The lawmakers who were disallowed from voting in the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker staged a protest in the House for five minutes.

The House was adjourned to meet again on August 16, 2018 (Wednesday) at 1100 hours.

Leave a Reply